Historic scene on Hannibal's primary corridor

The Hannibal Railway and Electric Company abandoned horse-drawn street

cars in favor of an electric street car system, such as pictured on Broadway, at right, after electric motors were developed in 1890. Electric street cars continued to serve Hannibal residents until the early 1920s. Barely visible at the far left is a three-story house, which was later removed and the land now serves as parking space for the courthouse. The courthouse itself was completed in on July 12, 1901. Unique to the era, the building was completely illuminated with electric lights. PHOTO COURTESY OF THE HULL HISTORY MUSEUM

 Recent Posts